Red Eye in Colorado


Mike and I were vacationing in Colorado last year in August. We didn’t have Lucky with us on this trip just when we needed him most. Larry and Kisha Sterling were with us a camping trip. Kisha and I volunteered to pick some blackberries. We separated at the bushes. Just past the patch I Saw someone with red eyes and screamed.

MIke was at my side in seconds along with everyone else. I told them what I saw and they started laughing. I told This was not a laughing matter. Mike said Redeye was a Camp Martin Johnson monster but make believe.

Larry examined the area and found footprints there. All of a sudden it wasn’t a laughing matter anymore. We headed back to camp but I know what I saw.

Joplin Boys Club New Gymnasium


This is the Joplin Boys Club New gymnasium. It’s not really all that new but it is the latest edition to the club. In about a year they will make another addition where the softball field is currently located behind the boys club. This new gymnasium also hosts a teenager room and a room where the board of directors meets. As you can see it is a very large building. It was not there when I was the executive director. The middle building is also a gymnasium that is regular sized. It used to host games for the Ozark Christian College in Joplin. They rented our facility for their home games. As I understand it the current Boys Club rents out the building for a basketball tournament each year that is not connected directly to the club. It looks like a very good facility.

Keith, Chuck, and Corinne


This Photograph was taken at our property Creek on the north side of our property. Pictured here was Keith Hansel, Chuck Reynolds, and a girl from the area called Corinne. I had four other boys with me on this particular trip from the Marion Boys Club. The kids have been wading in the creek and that’s why they’re barefoot. We had just taken a long hike and they wanted to cool off their feet. Then they all chatted away for about 20 minutes before heading back to our camp.

Ever so Still Big Bass Lake


Big Bass Lake is about as quiet and peaceful as I’ve ever seen it. Nary a ripple is to be found. You can even hear the orchestra of crickets and frog croaking nearly a quarter of a mile away. You can see your Reflection In The Water perfectly. Best yet, there is not a single boat in sight. The clouds reflect beautifully on the lake but only for a few more minutes and then the lake will become dark and desolate under the night sky. This is the time to reflect upon your day’s work in total tranquility. I wish I could put this kind of scenery in a bottle for safekeeping. It’s just ever so peaceful. Don’t you think?

Camp Tower Hill Forest


When I was 10, I enjoyed hiking at Camp Tower Hill. My parents sent me here from my home Church. I used to enjoy hiking with the other kids and my counselor. They had great trails at camp. We almost bordered on Lake Michigan and we were in Dune country. So what’s a little sand in our shoes. There are many activities there but I focused on hiking because I enjoyed it so much. There was always something new to see on a hike. Now and then you catch a glimpse of an animal That you don’t see in the city like a raccoon or a fox. I even like going up and down Hills even though my counselor didn’t seem to. enjoy it quite as much. I only went to Tower Hill camp One Summer but it was a great two week experience.

The Fate of Summer Camps


Resident summer camps are on their last week for 2019. Nationwide summer camp attendance is down due largely to the longer school year. Will this trend eventually exterminate summer camps altogether? Will it shorten them to July only? Tower Camp In Michigan has year round camping for families. Heated cabins as well.

Families that camp together, stay together. Plus the camp earns year round revenue. With schools taking breaks four times a year that gives year round camps the option of weekends or a week or so throughout the year. Thoughts?