Refreshing Big Bass Lake


As hot as it’s been lately Big Bass Lake is starting to look pretty good for swimming. The water is still a tad cold but nothing’s perfect these days. And for a change, there is a blue sky over Big Bass Lake. It’s a glorious day at the lake so why not take a refreshing dip? There is no better time than right now. And if you’re going skinny-dipping, I’ll close my eyes.

Ever So Still Big Bass Lake


Sometimes in the morning, Big Bass Lake was as still as it could be with no boats zooming about and the water clear as glass. Some of the boys would get up early, even after a late night out hiking, and jump in the row boat to get in some fishing near the swamp. They would take with them the jar of peanut butter with the holes in the lid and then sink it in shallow water.

A few other kids would also rise early but more so to get the wood for the morning fire as that was their work assignment for that given day. They also would first go down to the lake to wash the sleep off their faces. When the lake was still so was the air around camp and somewhat humid.

Once enough wood was gathered the boys started the fire for the morning meal. Then when there task was done they went down to the pointe to swim so as not to disturb the other kids fishing near the swamp. I was next up and I roused our cooks for the morning as oatmeal and biscuits was on the menu thus requiring both fire pits to be used.

Our surprise that morning was two perch fish to go along with the breakfast for those that had an appetite for fish. Right after breakfast a gentle rain began to fall, even though with the heavily treed area, we did not seem to feel anything different but raindrops could be seen on the lake.

The boys all retreated to the tents for a little extra sleep except for the clean-up crew and they soon followed. You see, calm air is another effect in that it soothes the tired campers into a good sleep.

Ice


IMG_20171015_162110 ice has often made me nervous. Especially clear ice where you can actually see the bottom of the lake.  I have never really trusted ice and don’t like walking on it in the winter. I don’t care how thick the ice is I just don’t trust it. I lost a dear friend a few years ago when he fell through the ice. That memory still haunts me to this day.  I have seen trucks on ice but that still doesn’t reassure me. I can’t think of any other website on the internet that has more to do with Big Bass Lake then this one. Thank you one and all!

The Big Bass Lake “Ball”


Now, I’ve seen tubing and water skiing plus speedboats and jet skis on Big Bass Lake and, yes, even som kayaks and canoes, but what in the heck is this “ball”?  Was it hit astray off the Big Bass Lake softball field just east of the old Big Bass Lake Store?  What is the function of that “ball” and how many residents on Big Bass Lak have them?

Many new innovations have been appearing on the lake in recent years but this one beats them all!  And, after this “ball” what will be coming next?  A prom on the ice of Big Bass Lake?  Or maybe a mini-sub operating in those waters?  I’ve even heard of “Water Walkers” which are styrofoam stork like legs that you can actually walk on water with but only in really calm waters.  Some say you can even run in them.

So what next clever idea will be coming our way at Big Bass Lake next?

The Thriving Town of Free Soil


Just a few short miles from the Orchard Market on US 31 is the quaint town of Free Soil, Michigan. For anyone that might want to drive fast through these small towns, this railroad crossing will want to make you change your mind. It is perhaps the bumpiest railroad tracks I have ever been over! Nearly every socket in your car will take notice of this crossing. Welcome to Free Soil!

My husband, Mike, used to take me to an old drug store in this town which used to serve up the best strawberry milkshakes ever.  Using this photograph as a reference point, it would have been not that far ahead on the right side of the road.  I don’t think it’s there anymore which is a shame.  For the time that it was in business it must have been the place to go in Free Soil as there didn’t seem to be that much competition. 

A few miles east of the town was a place called Camp Sauble and for the longest time, much to my husbands amusement, I thought it to be some sort of kids summer camp.  It was years later that I discovered it to be a correctional facility in the Michigan prison system.  Ha, Ha, Michael!

This provides you with an aerial view of Free Soil. At one time it had a school there and a railroad depot.  Did any of our readers go to school in Free Soil?  I haven’t been back to Free Soil for many years now even though Mike and I travel the immediate area quite a bit.  Someday i will get back there to at least see what has taken that drug stores place.  Maybe I’ll be surprised?