Shanty Falls Picnic


I think I took the Marion Y kids to Shanty Falls more than any other group. On this trip we grilled hot dogs just behind this location. We also had potato salad and potato chips with brownies for dessert. I told the boys to bring a canteen with them with water in it.

After lunch we explored the area. I had five boys with me. Three had been here before in the winter. Jimmy and Brad were new to this area. They largely explored in the immediate area around the waterfall. We had a great four hours there.

Loon Lake Resort


There used to be a resort on Loon Lake back in the early 1900s. It wasn’t like a resort today but still interesting. Some nights they played bingo. For me playing bingo is like watching paint drying. But some people really enjoy it. I suppose picnics were.high on the list there. And of course swimming and fishing were popular as well. Taking a night boat ride on the lake would have been high romance in those days. Anyone else know much about this place on Loon Lake?

Mishawaka Games Room


There’s nothing more that I enjoy than a good game of air hockey. I volunteer to do all the air hockey tournaments at the Mishawaka Boys Club. Do you know this is one game room activity where you can get injured? Your hand can take a beating with that puck moving around so quick. I never heard of Foosball before but I enjoy playing it. Pool and ping-pong are standard issue for game rooms. This club also had a shuffleboard table game which to me was challenging. I played a game called around the world ping pong and that wore me out. Those kids are in a lot better shape than I am. I think a games room belongs in a boys club. Great competition.

Mincemeat Information & Recipe


I am sure that most of you during holiday times have had mincemeat pie. It is one of my favorite pies. I have a link to an article on this plus the recipe. info and recipe I would think mincemeat pie would be a Michigan favorite. Here is what the finished product should look like.

Or if you prefer the simple way to enjoy  mincemeat.

The Derby Cow


I once ran across this restaurant but I can’t remember the town it was in. I took this picture only because of the cow on top. And look what’s on its head? Have you ever seen a cow wear a derby before? In fact the only thing I’ve ever seen wearing a derby was Spooky. He was Caspers cousin. You know, the Friendly Ghost. A derby! Talk about a sporty cow. I didn’t eat at the restaurant but I did take that photograph. Does anyone know where this restaurant is?

Charley Creek at Wabash City Park


What you see here are the cliffs of Charlie Creek at the Wabash City Park in Wabash Indiana. On the 4th of July they used to shoot the fireworks off at the lower Park and my vantage point to watch them was at the top of the cliffs in the upper part of the park. This was a rather large city park with two levels. Charley Creek ran the length of the park and Beyond to the Wabash River.