Big Bass Lake Over The Years- 2010′s- 7


This will be the last in a series of posts about Big Bass Lake Over The Years that began with a 1950’s edition to the present.

The trend on Big Bass Lake now is to build literal mansions over that of cottages as was the custom in the 1950’s through the 1980’s. It seems each new endeavor desires to surpass anything else that is on the lake. However, the white house with the crow’s nest has been on the market for some time now. Property values aside, the mere cost of this mansion must be difficult for most people.

I would also think wells around the lake would be in short supply for fresh drinking water. Lake water is often used for showering but even when our family lived on our former land, it was often difficult finding a fresh water well that we could use. And, with mansions now popping up all over the lake, the water demand is even moreso than before.

I wonder how many of these homes are occupied year round for the winters are quite harsh to area homes and upkeep is a constant. I have to wonder what the next decade will bring to Big Bass Lake?

Mishawaka Boys Club Camping Trip


Testing ones balance is always fun. But barefoot isn’t easy. This was a lot of fun for the boys and they learned how to kayak in the club pool.Pools aren’t just for swimming anymore. They also learn canoeing at the club.There’s nothing better than an hour in the sack after lunch. Pete is reading a comic book while Buddy is looking at pictures.Night time around the campfire. On this trip I took four boys for three night and they had a blast.

Success, Michigan WASN’T by Dan Barnes


success, Michigan is located on Garden Island which is in close proximity to Beaver Island. There is an Indian burial ground on this island and that area quite spooky to be sure. There are ruins scattered all over the island. For a Time success Michigan was a success what with the timber business and fishing but that all ended in the early 1900s. The island is now uninhabited and owned largely by the state of Michigan. The Indian burial ground is protected as a National Historical Site. Still, if you’re out there all by yourself it’s still a pretty spooky place.

King of Popcorn


Some people really like to push the limits. Does anyone really think this person can eat all that popcorn? She just has to be related to Orville Redenbocker.

Did you know that king of popcorn was once kicked out of the army? Word had it that he popped a kernel. You think about that one for awhile. It will come to you. But what movie theater in America would allow this over their own popcorn line? Talk about good and plenty!

And what if all that popcorn had butter and salt added? Well at least this person has the good sense to add a little potassium to their diet by way of a banana. But after this, where would they put it? By the way, Michigan does have the best popcorn!

Big Bass Lake Over The Years- 2000′s- 6


The last year I was up to Big Bass Lake was 1996 to visit my Aunt Beth in Ludington. I briefly swung by Big Bass Lake to visit an old friend. After the death of my Aunt Beth, our former 256 acre family farm was sold, new houses, such as the ones you see here, began to be constructed especially along our former lakefront area. A few even popped up along Noreika Road.

Noreika Road, as it is listed in the State of Michigan, has even undergone name changes along its route which I find unfortunate as that is the last linkage to my grandparents former land.

I don’t think that I will ever return to that area as my memories of the way it once stood will forever be etched in my mind. More than any of my other family. I used our land often taking various Boys Clubs of America camping trips there and even a YMCA. I thoroughly hiked and enjoyed our total property so it would be very difficult to see all the changes that have taken place.

I can well sympathize with those of Camp Martin Johnson who also lost their beloved summer camp in 1976. Only their memories remain along with the posts that we have done about their camp here on BBL and Beyond. Even the old Big Bass Lake Store and the Loon Lake Roller Rink have seen their day come and gone.

It is now time for new people to enjoy their experiences of this most unique lake with five islands dotting its lakefront. And enjoy it they will!

Big Bass Lake Over The Years- 1990′s- 5


The 1990’s saw three rather significant events take place in the Norris/Noreika family. First, in the early part of this decade my sisters, Treva and Kathy, along with myself set our parents ashes to rest (Adam and Treva) in the big swamp at the back part of the property near the phone lines. I knew that area would most likely never be develped due to the swampland and the phone lines in close proximity.

In 1992, some of the Norris family conducted a reunion bringing my two sisters and myself together, along with Aunt Beth, and my three neices, Sarah, Kristen, and Laura. We chose to quarter ourselves in Manistee at a motel and travel back and forth to the farm. We walked down to the beach and down the logging trail that led to the north side of our property. My neices also got to meet my Aunt Beth in person. Treva’s son, Bobby, also was on this reunion along with Treva and Bobby’s girl and boy friends.

The third event was the declining health of my Aunt Beth who eventually moved into Ludington and became a virtual recluse. I continued to call her weekly but her spirits declined along with her health. More on that in my next report.

Our cottage, as you see above, remains the same now except for a yellow coat of paint and massive changes in the rear with much earth moved to make way for a basement exit and several trees removed to make way for a docking area. That “new look” can be seen elsewhere at Big Bass Lake and Beyond.

Yup! It’s Wagner Lake


Yes you’re at Wagner Lake Marion Indiana . You can tell it’s Wagner Lake because you can’t see your foot in  one foot of water. Wagner lake is known for its brownish water . And this young fellow  isn’t sure if he wants to go in or not .  If he Dives underwater he won’t be able to see anything . I suppose walking around in this type of water  won’t hurt you .  However  it’s much easier to row a boat in this water  then to swim in it . 

Big Bass Lake Over The Years- 1980’s- 4


During the 1980’s I spent a lot of time making our wooded beachfront a dazzling area by cutting down the high ferns, taking our lawnmower over the area, raking the beach, and ridding the area of dead wood. Later as I was relaxing on an inner tube on Big Bass Lake, I looked around and the bow of a pontoon boat was bearing down on me heading for our beachfront.

I yelled and the owner of that boat cut his power as he had not seen me directly in front of him. After apologizing for not being very attentive, he noted that he had planned to dock at the area thinking it to be a public beach because it looked so good. I explained to him that it was private property but as long as he was there, he and his family could enjoy it with me.

My Aunt Beth had warned me this could happen if I made the area look too good to resist. So slowly I let the grass grow back up and allowed the area to return to the rustic way it once was.

The 1980’s saw our property buidlings just getting older and less safe. The old two room cottage deck floor had begun to warp badly and was probably unsafe for human habitation. It was largely used for just storage. The old barn for a time was being used as a hanger for an ultra-lite complete with an FBI warning sign attached to the building which was probably the only imporvement made to that barn in years.

Also at this time, Jack Knysz was the owner and operator of the Big Bass Lake store.

Coming soon, the 1990’s.