Jeremiah


Jeremiah was my white long-haired cat for 15 years. He was one of the best pets I’ve ever owned. I often called him The Reincarnation of Buff who was a dog I found on my paper route when I was 11. Jeremiah must have been part Italian because whenever I made spaghetti his eyes were fixed on it. I used Parmesan cheese in my spaghetti and Jeremiah would often eat two strands of it and that was about it. He also liked KFC chicken but was rather negative to tuna fish. I guess Charlie got a reprieve. Jeremiah passed away several years ago but he will always be in my memory. Of  all the toys I bought for him which were largely ignored, his favorite was a simple piece of string and he loved stalking it as I moved it back and forth. What a hunter!

The Manistee National Forest Festival


The Manistee National Forest Festival, presented by the Chamber since 1936, promises entertainment and fun for the entire family. Carnival rides, parades, fireworks, art exhibits, tours, and so much more! It will be in beautiful Manistee, Michigan. The famous clown band from Scottville Michigan usually performs.

It begins with a flag raising ceremony. Then the 4th of July Parade will commence to be followed by Bravo Troop’s Hot Dog Stand and Garage Sale. Then the Festival Marketplace will open along with the Whispering Pines Mobile Zoo. The 4th of July events will close with fireworks over Lake Michigan.

Other happenings in the Festival will be the annual Manistee World of Arts and Crafts on July 6. Later that day Li’l Abner will put in an appearance. And many of the features from the 4th of July will occur every day during the Festival. It should be a great time for everyone so come and join the fun this year.

Great Winding Roads


One thing that the Manistee National Forest does not lack is dirt and sand roads. They are found in abundance within that forest.  In fact, the road that covers the east side of Dave’s Big Bass Lake was not paved over until only just recently.  Until that time it was a rather bumpy stretch of road that passed both Lakeview Cemetery and Camp Martin Johnson. 

I actually prefer the sandy roads even though car wash owners also adore them for they are good for their business.  The roads I enjoy most are those that wind their way through the forest with only a rare straight-away.  They are largely one lane roads but I rarely see another car on them when I travel them.

I have a map at home telling me of every road within the national forest that I have taken and one day I hope to travel them all.  By my calculations that will take about ten more years for the one’s I have marked down for future reference.  Each year I rotate around a different county covering as many roads as I can.  Paved roads do not count yet they are often the one’s that take me to the unpaved pathways. 

The one in this photograph is near Irons, Michigan.  Next week I have one planned for near Luther.  What a great past time to have!

The Only Time My Sister Was Taller Than Me


Now being six foot ten inches, this was the only picture that I can recall where my sister was taller than me. Yes, this little towheaded little boy has now stretched himself out to be me. The tree in the background can be seen elsewhere on our photo page and it appears as if it were not even a day older. Trees are like that, you know. They don’t show age as our human bodies do.

In height I passed the majority of my family by the seventh grade. By the time I left for college, I was at my full growth. It is widely reported that our family milk man cried when I went away because he lost half his business at our house. Yes, milk DOES do the body good.

I can’t remember myself at this height much but I do remember meeting my grandfather at this one and only time when I was that small.  Even though I couldn’t understand him much, as he spoke broken English accented by heavy Lithuanian, I know he loved me as the smile on his face was more than showing. 

Maybe I should have remembered more at this age but unfortunately that is not the case.  At least this memory is fresh.

Jack Knysz and the Deer!


5e486027adc58d016568a6738085d74b--funny-signs-funny-memes back in the 1980s, I had sold Jack my green station wagon. Jack was the owner of the Big Bass Lake store at that time. He was driving   it home on Michigan Highway 37 when he met one of those suicidal deers. The car was totaled but Jack was okay. In 10 years of driving that car I had never had an accident. Jack was not as fortunate. Oh well he still had the store. Jack never told me what he did with the deer.