The Ice Cream at The Loon Lake Pavilion


One thing I regret about my boys Club trips to Big Bass Lake and that was that they never got to experience the Loon Lake Roller Rink. I suppose the kids would have rolled their eyes at the organ music, but they would have loved the ice cream served there. It had a Dairy Queen consistency that was quite good. But they would have also liked to roller skate each trip we made there. That would have made the trip even better. I personally enjoyed the ice cream too. I was never the best roller skater and I’m sure the kids would have laughed me right out of the rink. You know I could use one of those ice cream cones right now!

No Swimming Today


 I think we’ll pass on swimming today. Someone was in the swimming hole before us and I think will let him stay there. After all if we trying to go in we might have to grin and bear it. Besides he looks so happy in there by himself. First come first served I’ve always said. Besides if we went in that old expression might be true. Misery loves company. Besides Bear Swamp should be for Bears. Why should we intrude on their privacy?

Grant County Boys & Girls Clubs Ignores their History!


The Boys & Girls Clubs of Grant County  should be ashamed for ignoring their history . On both their website and Facebook page  there is nothing of the old Club  at 2020 South McClure Street .  Not one single picture .  Without the foundation of the old Club  the new club may never have existed .  The old Club is still in existence but overgrown . To be frank  the current Club  needs to include  a portion of their history  on their website or Facebook page .  Many great activities took place in that club. I even have to wonder why the old Club  could not have been an extension  of the new . What happened to the kids of that area ? Face up to your history  as that is your duty ! 25392_386443400861_2118948_n

Marlborough Cement Factory by Earl


I was there. And at night yet. Some say this place is haunted and I believe them. About 4 months ago I visited the Marlborough cement factory just outside Baldwin Michigan. It’s the ruins of a cement factory that is now on the historical preservation list. When I was there at night I heard things that sent shivers up and down my spine. I heard just the whisper of voices but when I turned around I couldn’t see a thing. Now I’m not one to scare easy but this terrified me. Unfortunately I don’t have a witness to this incident but it happened. I wish I had a tape recorder. I didn’t see anything weird but I heard those voices. Has anyone had any similar situation when visiting this place?

A Strange Crunching Sound


 about 20 years ago or so I was at the Ward Hill ski area near Baldwin Michigan. My husband and I wanted to look at the slopes and take some pictures but we also brought along our skis. We were probably trespassing but we wanted to get a look at the trappings of the facility. My husband took off to take some pictures and I was alone for a Time. It was then I heard that strange crunching sound at Twilight. I looked behind me and saw nothing. At first I thought it was my husband trying to scare me. But then I saw him farther down the slope. I also heard a strange cackle sound behind me. It was at that moment that I decided to join my husband quickly. He told me it was my imagination but I know better. I was there. But I won’t be there anymore!

Is Ward Hills Ski Area Cursed and Haunted by Montgomery Otis?


My grandfather, bearing the same name as my own, was said to have been killed at Ward Hills in the early 1960’s when he hit a tree while skiing. Soon thereafter the resort was sold to Camp Martin Johnson to be used as an alterative camp especially in the winter season. In my conversations with several ex-campers, on thing is crystal clear.  Several had heard a crunching sound behind them while they were on the crest of several ski hills but when they turned around, they saw no one.

Could my grandfather still be stalking that area year round?  Think about it.  No matter who has owned that land, no one owns it for long.  Since the camp owned it many believe even Ted Nugent once held the property under his name.  Then there were the recent owners who tried to fix up the Lodge and the area to be used for sledding and summer events. 

Some of those people also owned up to the place being haunted, especially at night.  When sledding they heard that mysterious crunching noise while observing no one behind them.  Could it be true that my grandfather Montgomery Otis is behind all this?  Has he cursed Ward Hills to the point where no one owns it for long? 

Again, the location is under private ownership but for how long?  Will they also hear those crunching sounds in the winter solace?  I have never comprehended the circumstances of my grandfather’s death so maybe it was not accidental after all?  Does Montgomery Otis still walk the lands of Ward Hills seeking the true cause of his death?