Lucky


Today I broke the news to Lucky that we will be moving back to Michigan in probably May. Lucky Found Me on a camping trip to the Prescott National Forest. I’ve had him ever since but he’s not used to Michigan cold or the amount of snow we get. Still his tail was wagging pretty good. Darlene will be glad to say goodbye to the sandstorms. I have to confess that I’ll miss the hot days in winter. But we all think of Michigan it’s Where We Belong and it’s where we’ll be heading in May. We plan to house hunt in February. The city were looking at is Manistee and the surrounding area. The it’s Manistee we’ll have a lot of reports about that area. I wonder if the Lions are any better now?

The Channel Between Big and Little Bass Lake


If you follow the red line between Big and Little Bass Lake, then you have found the channel between these two lakes.  It is just over a third of a mile in length and, in spots, is quite deep. Under most circumstances it is a one lane channel and if boats were to pass along the way, one would have to move into the lilly pads for the other boat to pass.

The uniqueness of this channel has always made me wonder why a similar channel between Big Bass Lake and Bluegill Lake was never constructed as those two lakes are also in close proximity one to the other. Yet the channel between Big and Little Bass Lakes can be found in the northern section of Big Bass Lake or the southern part of Little Bass Lake.

A few months ago I featured a multi-part series highlighting various locations within the channel and also Little Bass Lake.

Winter Blizzard at Big Bass Lake


Can you even imagine taking your last row of the season on Big Bass Lake and then, right when you’re in the middle of te lake, a snowstorm hits you? If I had to choose, I’d take a Dairy Queen Blizzard over one like this!

This type of scene is best viewed from the inside of a home in front of  roaring fireplace.  Those that stay year round at Big Bass Lake get to take in a lot of these scenes,  Afterwards, when the ice is firm, out come the snowmobiles and ice skates.  I wonder if wind boarding  would catch on in weather like this?

What kind of winter activities do you prefer on Big Bass Lake?  Let us know by way of a comment.

The Epic Wrestling Match Between Jimmy Wattron and Mark Obrien by Andy Donahue


At the Hoffman Estates Boys Club the most exciting wrestling match ever was between Jimmy Wattron and Mark O’Brien. Dave’s assistant Phil was the referee. Jimmy’s brother Danny kept teasing his brother about not taking out Mark in the first round. It was a tough match between the two. They could not wrestle with shoes on and Mark rarely washed his feet so whenever they got near Jimmy’s Head he would scream foul. And Mark used that to his full advantage. It was one of the funniest wrestling matches ever. Jimmy kept squirting out of Mark’s holds whereas Jimmy nearly had him pinned three times. Phil called the match after 5 rounds and gave it to Jimmy on points. His brother Danny got mad because he said Jimmy should have pinned him easily. Danny said, because of this we’re going to have to move out of town. And strangely enough 3 months later they did move out of town. Andy Donahue reporting for the Hoffman Estates Boys Club.

Snow Fences


I think its a tad early to be thinking about snow fences.  I mean, I’m not completely done with swimming in Lake Michigan this year.  Yes, I still find locations on M-116 to swim and these fences get in the way and make me think about the approaching winter.  Yet in Michigan, there are still some great weather days in September so why be so quick to jump the gun?

Well, perhaps its better to be safe than sorry but for the life of me, I can’t think when snow last fell in September?  Still, one has to be prepared and the task of putting up these snow fences is not easy as there is much beachfront to cover.  Then again, it makes me think about winter before I want to as it technically isn’t even autumn yet!

In about a week I’ll be hanging up my swimming trunks until next summer but that’s in about a week!  Those snow fences seem to be rushing me and intend to fence me in from my past time.  What they don’t know is that I’ll be visiting the lake again in January 2012 for the Polar Bear Plunge!  Fences or no fences!

Night of the Michigan Dogman Attack


The Hoffman Estates Boys Club kids were just past the tree farm down the Bloody Antler Trail when they heard a blood curdling growl. In the tree farm behind us we saw a figure running across the meadow. It appeared to be a human body but with a grotesque head. I had heard tell of the stories of the Michigan Dogman and perhaps that is what we were all seeing.

He suddenly stopped in his tracks and glared at us even though we were about seventy yards away. He looked skyward and screamed in agony sending the boys close around me. Then he came forth in almost a charge. Before we knew it, he was in front of us. A strange dog like head was what we took in and two older boys picked up a large branch to hold it off. But he shook those branches aside as if they were toothpicks.

I moved forward to protect the boys and the thing shoved me to the ground as if I were nothing. Before I knew it shirts were being torn ascender and screams filled the air. I grabbed the creature from behind and he shook me loose in no time flat and set upon the older boys again. By now it was evident that we had encountered the Dogman as his head was very visible to us. It acted as if it were insane.

The creature ignored the smaller boys and continued his assault on both me and the two older boys. One boy he flung ten feet through the air and the smaller kids went to his side to assist and protect him. Throughout the attack the Dogman shrieked that blood curdling howl as if it were wounded.

After about ten minutes, which seemed like an hour, it moved off without giving us any more due attention. The next thing I knew I was getting myself off the ground from my tent in full perspiration. What a nightmare that was! It made me ponder if the legend of the Dogman was real or not. But for that dream it was more than real. It was a terrifying nightmare!

Ludington Harbor


This is the harbor of Ludington Michigan and as you can see they have a lot of pleasure boats that go out onto Lake Michigan. This is also the course that The Badger takes on his way to Wisconsin. That ship is a ferry boat loaded down with trucks and cars. Have you ever been on to Lake Michigan with a speedboat? Or on a fishing boat? How about a big sailboat? I’ll bet there’s every kind of boats in that Harbor. But not at this time of year.