Gary Eck the Creator


No, Captain Crunch’s secret identity is not Gary Eck at least not the secret identity I’m thinking of. Gary is the father of my three nieces and the father of Captain Crunch peanut butter. How can that be? Well Gary just happens to be what is known as a flavor chemist and he created the peanut butter flavor of Captain Crunch. So what does Gary look like? That would be an apt question.

Do you notice any resemblance to Captain Crunch? I’ll leave that up to your imagination. Seriously Gary is one of the nicest men I’ve ever met. You’d like him if you met him to. Gary is now in retirement and enjoying life to its fullest. I do Wonder though if he starts off his day with a bowl of Captain Crunch peanut butter? Maybe Inspector Clouseau would know???

Michigan “Signs”


Michigan snowbirds No Doubt put up this sign to remind them when winter is drawing nigh. It has to be disregarded in summer, spring, and fall. No one can say that Michigan people do not have a sense of humor. At least for three seasons of the year. The next sign was a college boy prank. But the fog provides a Twilight Zone feel to it. by the way, there is no end of the Earth Michigan. Have a great day. signing off!

Star Trek


LakeCountyMI

Our driveway to our property was right next to the public landing and just to the west of our driveway was a dirt road that led down the Bloody Antler Trail. About a quarter of a mile into the woods was a grassy path that led back into the Manistee National Forest to the north.

On almost every trip with the various boys clubs, we took this hike around 9:00 pm. It led to a Christmas tree farm but until then we were surrounded by thick forest and a couple of swamps.

The ominous trail opened up into that Christmas tree farm like one was coming out of a tunnel. There the kids could see almost every star in the sky. They were awestruck as to how many stars they could observe as the cities they came from robbed them of that view due to the lighting of the various towns.

This was the second most anticipated trip next to the Haunted House. The boys were always so excited to get to that tree farm to get out of the darkness of the forest. The stars were their reward as each trip told of that sight. Most times we gazed at the stars for about a half hour while resting before the return trip.

Na-Tah-Ka in Summer and Winter


A summer rainbow over the corner store. I wonder if this was close to Saint Patrick’s Day? I doubt it because of all the trees in bloom. Maybe the store took in a great fortune that day?

If it had been cold cash this would have been the scene. Shiver me timbers! It’s winter we find ourselves in now. And the restaurant the place to be with good food and good friends and best of all warm.

Manistee National Forest Brilliance


This past winter has seen few snowfalls but on this one occasion, a few lady friends and I were hiking the Manistee National Forest near Luther, Michigan, when I happened across this scene. I had to capture it for the sheer brilliance of it all. The color scheme is magnificent and says it all about a brisk Michigan winter day.

Some say my pictures of the Sauble River outlet at Lake Michigan are good but this well rivals anything I had previously taken there.  I love how the sun is caught in its fiery best.  And, for the longest time on this hike, all of us were quiet just to hear the crunching sounds of the snow beneath our feet as it had a crusty layer to it that day. 

The sheer beauty of this day tethered to the sounds of crunching snow were fabulous.  And any time five ladies can be silent for over an hour must be some sort of record yet this scene had us all mesmerized.  I’m glad I brought a pair of sunglasses with me as I needed it to see well. 

I could drink in scenes of nature like this all day long and my soul would be nourished by it a hundredfold.  Wow!

Scottville Christmas Tree Farm


Mike and I love to explore the Manistee National Forest for Christmas trees but are not allowed to use those trees for private use. But nearby Scottville has a Christmas tree farm that makes it easy to get a good tree. After all, Christmas is less than two months away and its always good to plan ahead and select your tree for the coming season in advance. It’s always good to beat the crowd and get the pick of the litter.

Mike literally hates shopping, even this kind, but I could spend hours going up and down the rows to pick the very best tree for our living room.  The Reynolds family custom is to only decorate our Christmas tree with colored lights and usually of only one color.  My favorite color is blue and those lights on a fresh green tree is just fabulous.  If it were up to Mike he would pick out the first tree that caught his favor and that would be that.  I like to fully explore the farm and get the very best tree for our house. 

After I select the right tree, we then return in the second week of December to pick up our order.  I just hope that this year I pick out a great tree even if it takes all afternoon.  I think Mike just passed out when I said that!

What IS The Purpose of a Snow Fence?


LUDINGTON SNOW FENCE

I must confess I’ve always wondered about what the purpose of a snow fence is along Lake Michigan? Does anyone really think those pourous fences will stop the snow? Usually the snow drifts right over those fences. One would think the fence was built to keep the snow from progressing from that point forward but these fences have holes in them between the boards.

Can anyone elighten me as to what purpose snow fences really serve?

Sun Kissed Big Bass Lake


Don’t let the sun get in your eyes here but if you look to the other side of Big Bass Lake, that large forested area from left to right is where the majority of our boys club camping trips took place and is also the site of our beach. Just to the left of where the picture was taken was our family property which extended along the lake down to that camping area even though some sites were sold to friends of my grandmother.

Albert Matson was one of those people and he was always friendly toward the kids I took up to Michigan from various boys clubs. I think he was glad our trips were only about a week though as we were camped not too far from his cottage. He passed away several years ago but he was a most friendly man who had a great garden.

The other people I didn’t get to know too well as they stayed to themselves. A white cottage right next to our beachfront was largely vacant on our trips there in the summer and I don’t think I ever met the folks who lived there. Their fenceline trailed almost down to the beach itself stopping just short of the quagmire swamp.

Isn’t this just a spectacular photograph of Big Bass Lake?