The Legend of the White Moose


Have you ever heard the legend of the white moose? In the 1950s and 60s it was legendary in the Big Bass Lake area. If people were to see a white moose crossing a road at midday it was said to have ended droughts in the area. But you actually had to see it with some form of verification. Within 2 days, as the legend had it, Bountiful rain would refresh the land. I wonder if any long-time residents of the area Have heard of this Legend? It would seem that any kind of moose would be rare in that area much less a white one. But perhaps they were more plentiful in those days. If you’ve heard of The Legend please leave us a comment as to what you might be able to add to it. Thank you.

M-116 Trails of Sand and Trees


Aside from running along the shores of Lake Michigan, I like to do what few others do and that is take walks to the east of M-116. Most people park their cars along M-116 and head for their own private beach but I like to go the other way at times and explore the sand and trees that seem to go on forever.

Between Ludington and Hamlin Dam is a 7 mile stretch of M-116 where this can be done. I always like to keep Lake Michigan in view as a bearing to where I am as one could get lost in this wasteland quite easily especially when going up and down dunes.

After a great deal of hiking and exploring I then like to also head into Lake Michigan for a refreshing swim before returning home. Even today it is possible to run into a bear in that area as they have returned to the Ludington area so to be on the safe side, I always take my two huskie dogs with me when hiking that area. Besides, Frick and Frack enjoy it almost as much as I do.

Late Autumn at Big Bass Lake


The Marion YMCA kids got to do something no other youth organization ever did at Big Bass Lake and that was to enjoy an afternoon at our wooded beachfront in late October for a hot dog roast.  I had rented a cabin on the Little Manistee River But came over to our property for a hike and lunch. 

We not only had hot dogs but cooked baked beans over the fire. It was in the mid 40s that day so jacket weather. Mike and Donnie made the beans at our second fire pit while Butch and Jay made grilled hot dogs. It turned out to be a feast.

the kids had a full day topped off by a great hike. We were there for only four days but made the most of them special.

Receeding Beaches on Lake Michigan


My husband, Mike, just loves to run along the shores of Lake Michigan nearly anytime during the year and he rarely observes what I do.  He misses the fact that this year there seems to be less and less beach.  Now that hasn’t been the case in recent years when, in some cases, some piers were left altogether out of the water.  This year, however, with all he snow we had during the winter and the abundant rainfall this spring and summer, well, the lake has gone up again.

Just examine how close to the end of this staircase the lake is compared with how much beach is available.  Not much!  You’re almost immediately in Lake Michigan and even Mike should notice how narrow his running track has been this summer.  I, on the other hand,  prefer sunning to swimming and I do notice how short the beaches have become.  In years past, I had to walk quite a distance to get wet but now its just a few feet!

Yet next year there might be more beachfront than this year so I suppose it’s just a matter of how different each year becomes.  Still, while I sun myself I do enjoy the rolling surf of Lake Michigan and the wonderful sounds it brings with it.  Makes me want to nod off.