The Monster in Big Bass Lake


Does this creature really live at the bottom of Big Bass Lake?

Robbie Martinson sent me this picture when he was scuba diving in the Narrows of Big Bass Lake. He emailed me this picture yesterday. Has anyone got a glimpse of it besides him? Maybe you can only see it under water? You have to wonder if it is dangerous? Maybe some fishermen could catch this thing? Whatever it is it is intriguing if real.

Hiking the North Country Trail


When my two husky dogs were still alive they traveled with me on the North Country Trail in Lake County. They dearly loved the snow but that’s the kind of dogs they were. I almost had as much fun watching them Frolic in the snow than in the very hike itself. I enjoyed winter hiking even in the snow. You could see for almost a mile and the hiking was briske. The temperature on this day was about 36 degrees with no wind. The snow was a little bit crunchy from the night before us sub 32 temperature. I had brought a lunch so about halfway to where my wife would be meeting me I built a fire and cooked some hot dogs. The dogs even got a couple of them. I thought we might see some Wildlife that day but I think the dogs scared them away. I hiked about 7 miles in all and had a great day. But not as great as Fric and Frac had.

Did Your Rowboat Wind Up Here?


I can almost hear the faint sound of taps in the background as I view these old boats.  I wonder what adventures they could each tell us about during their younger years on Big Bass Lake.  I wonder if our ol rowboat is here?  It sure was a comical adventure getting it from our pier to the Big Bass Lake Public Landing about a hundred yards away.

Comical because our boat was old and water laiden and the trip via a pontoon boat saw the heavy old rowboat almost sink several times enroute to that landing.  I know whereever that old boat is today it sure served us well over the years.  Perhaps its here in this boat “cemetary”?

Does anyone know exactly where this boat graveyard is located?  And what is the purpose for such a place?  Let us know by way of a comment.

Salesian Center- 5


this is the salesian center Boys Club gymnasium and running track over the gym. This gymnasium also had pull down bleachers. On the far wall was a scoreboard. There was a side room that was used for both wrestling and a simple form of paddle ball. There was a hallway that led to the locker room and swimming pool. This was my area to program during my stay at this boys club. We had a great basketball in here with about 10 teens competing against each other. After the games we usually went down to Wendy’s to chat about them over refreshments. Over the gymnasium was the running track but only our senior members had access to it. Adults that used the health club also had access to it. It was a great gym and outside of basketball we played kickball and dodgeball the most.