Follow Those Ducks!


I think part of me has always wanted to be a private investigator and tail someone so one evening at Big Bass Lake I got into our rowboat and begain tailing a group of ducks. When you do this you have to be very careful not to startle your prey so I lazily dipped each oar into the lake in a slow methodical pattern and kept within earshot of their quacks.

One duck glanced behind him but didn’t give me a second notice as he continued on his merry way behind mother duck. I was surprised that I was following them in a fairly straight line. For a moment I began gaining on them a tad too fast and they swerved out of the way fast. I believe that I had blown my cover.

The ducks increased their speed and in the approaching darkness I lost them. I’ll tell you this! Private investigative work is not all that it’s cracked up to be as those birds were quick to “duck” out of sight. Oh, well, there’s always some geese to follow the next time out.

The Serene Sauble River


I think that next to the Ludington Lighthouse and Breakwater, this is the second most photographed scene in the area.  Someday I want to get a picture of this river when the water is high as it meets the churning waters of Lake Michigan in a storm.  Which side would win out?  The turbulent waves of Lake Michigan or the flowing waters of the Sauble River each going in opposite directions?

Of course, there would be an element of danger in getting such a picture as that unless I use my lens from the bridge over M-116.  Until then scenes like this are much easier to capture and without the danger.  Yet what a tug of war between two opposing forces that would be!  It really gets the adrenaline going. 

A Child’s First Lake Experience


This little one is literally getting their feet wet for the first time! Perhaps that is the best way for a child to experience their first time at the lake? Get their tiny feet wet. In that way they will feel more comfortable going in a little deeper each time.

Feet usually get so warm in shoes so when they initially hit that water it gives the youngster a most refreshing feeling.  The child can wiggle their toes and push that refreshing water between them.  Then they can slightly bury their feet in the sand beneath the water and pull them out ever so gently as the sand caresses their feet.

Then, in very shallow water, allow your child to take a seat in the water and observe everything that occurs from that point forward.  My nephew began playing with his hands in the sand beneath the water and exploring everything in sight including trying to grab a few minnows.  And that became his first fishing experience.

Make sure you document all this with photographs so that you can later share your child’s first experiences in the lake with them.  What a splash that will make on their life!

Has the NHL come to Big Bass Lake?


ISu0cy0jydky7b0000000000 I think that the National Hockey League is on Safe ground here! I wonder how these boys feel about shoveling snow on the lake in order to play hockey? They Grumble at home about shoveling the walk but not here which takes even more work. But its for a fun cause. Now they know more about what NHL officials have to do to get the ice ready for games. And now that the work is done the fun begins. I wonder who gets to drop the first puck?