Grandma’s Hat in the Distance


This patriotic Big Bass Lake resident affords a great look at the smallest iisland on the lake which you can make out in the distance. Hardly bigger than most people’s living rooms, This island is just off the Big Island’s bridge. It has an excellent sand swimming beach which many in the 50’s and 60’s used to utilize often.

This island is located on the southeast portion of the lake. It used to be a great view from the back of the Big Bass Lake store. Now that store is closed and is being resold as a residential property. The store at one time was the only place on the lake to fill up with gasoline for all the boaters on the lake and did a brisk business in the summer.

I understand this island is also known as Tiny Tim and I am sure that the five islands on the lake have been named and renamed many, many times.

Hunter’s Moon


Darlene went too bed a good 3 hours ago. On our camping trips she enjoys cooking and sleeping. Frick & Frack are with her to protect her as they are our two Husky dogs. So that leaves me out here waiting for deer. Having a hunter’s Moon makes it special. Plus there’s more light to spot the deer. It’s probably about 40 degrees right now. I probably won’t make any hits tonight but I won’t give up on this trip until I bag myself a buck. Persistence is the key to success. Then again Darlene awaits me at the tent. I can always count on her being there for me. She’s a great wife.