Yearly Coated


this building was he Wabash High School ticket booth for football. It was in front of Alumni field home of the Wabash Apaches. Each year the senior class had the responsibility for repainting the booth. They could do it in whatever color or design they chose to do. That building probably has more coats of paint than any other building and Wabash. It was a fun project. In our senior year I think we painted it orange and black which are the school colors.

View of Sauble Lake by Gary


it was right about here that as a kid I had a rope swing. It wasn’t one near the water. Instead it hung from a tree limb and was great fun. My folks didn’t like boats so we didn’t own one. That was the biggest rip-off of our trip. I can only watch the lake but never ride on it. I did go swimming at our beach and the only thing I got to ride on was an old inner tube. I had a younger brother and we had great Splash Wars at the lake. I kind of miss those days.

The Obstacle Course Quiz and Wiz Program


The Hoffman Estates Boys Club started the obstacle course quiz and wiz program. The majority of obstacle courses are only physical but ours added in education events. In total eight events were held. There were four physical events and four mental events. The physical events included the tire endurance five times, four somersaults, moving through a 5-foot tube, and a rope climb. The mental events were a simple math problem, dictionary location, globe location, and an unscramble. If a boy opted out of the mental events it added 2 minutes to his score per event. The competition was held with Cadets, juniors, and seniors. Then all three winners competed against each other for a fun round. We won an education award through Boys Clubs of America due to this program.

A Loon on, You Guessed it, Loon Lake


what a peaceful stroll on the lake for this loan. And nary a wave to hinder it. The Loon skims along the surface ever so smoothly as if it were on ice. It almost appears as a swan. It looks So Graceful on the water. Loon Lake is very serene at this time of day. Makes me want to get out my rowboat and follow it to see where it goes. Just a thought.

Fall at Alice Lake


can you hear it? The rustle of leaves in the Wind? It’s fall at Alice Lake. The deer I starting to get nervous as hunting season is just around the corner. Squirrels are busy adding nuts to the trees in case of a Long Winter. I see a singular rowboat on the lake. I think they’re fishing. At least he has the laken to himself today. It would be a good day to rake leaves but tomorrow might be even better. I can feel the wind at my back today. I might just cook out this afternoon. It’s a great day to be alive.