The Treachery of Ice


BigBassLakeColdFeet

Ice fishing is in for a lot of year round residents of the Big Bass Lake area. Yet if not for a miracle of sorts this author would not be here today due to the treachery of ice.

My father was carrying a Christmas tree across the lake in the dead of winter, while a boy, when the ice gave way. He plummented into the icy waters of Big Bass Lake. He was ever so fortunate to find the same place that he caved through. Many don’t and are unable to break through the ice from underwater. The two kids with him carefully helped him out and all scrambled for land as soon as possible and to the nearest cabin so that my dad didn’t freeze to death.

My dad from that time on never went onto Big Bass Lake in the winter again opting instead to use the local roads. As for me, I’ve only been to Big Bass Lake a couple of times in the dead of winter and never chose to walk on the lake. Instead I spent the majority of my time hiking the family forested acres.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.