A Late Winter Trip to Big Bass Lake for The Marion Boys Club


The kids of the Marion Boys Club took the opportunity over an early spring break to visit Big Bass Lake in what amounted to the end of winter. We took as our base of operation the resort on Seaman’s Lake a mere mile from Big Bass Lake. Winter was still upon the area as a light coat of snow covered the ground and Seaman Lake was still iced over but only with a thin coat. I say that because in about two feet of water it caved in under the weight of both Calvin Little and Kevin Hansel. Only their feet got wet but both were frozen as they entered the cottage to change clothes and shoes.

Fortunately the cottage was just up a hill from where they went in. And despite warnings to the contrary about the dangers of ice told them continuously on the way there, they just had to experiment. They wrapped themselves in two Indian blankets that kept them quite warm to the point that they didn’t want to leave them for over an hour.

Our second day there saw the temperature rise into the low 50’s and the snow cover was gone by mid-day. I took the boys over to our property on Big Bass Lake and I parked the car just off Noreika Road where we usually parked for summer trips. To both the boys and my surprise, the area we usually camped at was under two feet of water! The lake extended all the way to the swamp behind our camping area.

So we opted instead to take a hike on the logging trail all the way to Matson Road. The kids marveled at how “naked” the woods appeared without leaves and how far they could actually see across our property. We ate our lunch near the creek by the phone lines before heading back to the car. Our next stop was at the Big Bass Lake store where the kids purchased some snacks for the night ahead.

We were only at the area for four days over a brief school break. On this trip we took no night hikes as the weather was still kind of brisk and the nightly wind went right through you. The next to last day there we took a trip to Driftwood Valley and the boys were taken aback as to just how desolate that area was at this time of year. There was no talk about wading in the Little Manistee River that day as the temperature was only in the mid 40’s with a stiff wind.

All in all the boys really enjoyed the trip and especially the nights in our heated cottage. Instead of campfires we rallied around the old heat burning stove. Graham crackers with strawberry jelly really hit the spot on those nights. The following day we left the resort for home and the boys looked forward to our summer trips there where tents would be the order of the day at Big Bass Lake.

Is that a Sailboat on Big Bass Lake?


you don’t find sailboats on Big Bass Lake that much anymore. At the present time you don’t find them at all. After all it is winter time. But sometime in late spring you might find one or two sailboats on the lake. During summer time there are too many speed boats on the lake for sailboats to move around safely. I like to watch a number of sailboats especially with different color masts. Does anyone know how many homeowners on the lake have sailboats?

Bug-Eye by Travis


My name is Travis and last summer I was in the Manistee National Forest near White Cloud. I had finished supper up early, I was tired after a long day of hiking. I had gotten about an hour to sleep when I was awakened by a noise behind me. I grabbed my camera fast and caught a picture of this thing. I knew about this website and emailed it to the head guy. I don’t want no publicity but I thought people should be Warned. When my film developed I kind of called this guy Bug-eye. I have no idea what it was nor did I follow it. I’m neither Brave Nor stupid. Don’t know how dangerous it was and wasn’t about to find out in the thick of Darkness. Next morning I hightailed it out of there. Don’t think I’ll ever return. Stayed up all night cuz I was afraid to go back to bed. My friends thought I dreamed the whole thing up but I got this picture to prove my point. That’s about all I got to say.

Winter Dusk


Did you feel it today?  Spring was in the air even though ice is till receding from lakes and rivers.  Its almost time to say goodbye to my parka and snowmobile for yet another year.  I actually felt warmth today and it felt really good!  Soon I’ll begin planting my garden that has been softened by all our snow this year.  And if sprin is just aroun the corner, what does that have to say about summer?

Now hubbie Mike may like swimming with the other “native” polar bears in the dead of winter but I prefer the prestine beaches of Ludington when the warm weather hits and my tan needs doing again.  There’s no tans available for those polar bears!  But that first whiff of spring sure smells good.  Its almost time to plant and then preserve.  I jut love Michigan at this time of year as everything seems to just refresh itself.

Well springtime is the time of renewal isn’t it?

The Treachery of Ice


BigBassLakeColdFeet

Ice fishing is in for a lot of year round residents of the Big Bass Lake area. Yet if not for a miracle of sorts this author would not be here today due to the treachery of ice.

My father was carrying a Christmas tree across the lake in the dead of winter, while a boy, when the ice gave way. He plummented into the icy waters of Big Bass Lake. He was ever so fortunate to find the same place that he caved through. Many don’t and are unable to break through the ice from underwater. The two kids with him carefully helped him out and all scrambled for land as soon as possible and to the nearest cabin so that my dad didn’t freeze to death.

My dad from that time on never went onto Big Bass Lake in the winter again opting instead to use the local roads. As for me, I’ve only been to Big Bass Lake a couple of times in the dead of winter and never chose to walk on the lake. Instead I spent the majority of my time hiking the family forested acres.

Summer Sand Dunes Converting Into Winter Sledding Dunes


One good thing about Ludington, Michigan, is that the dunes there are not only there for summer enjoyment. In winter time they can also be used for sledding. One piece of advice, though, is make sure your sled or saucer is not heading down the dune toward Lake Michigan.

Of course along M-116 on the eastern side are countless dunes that do not come into contact with Lake Michigan at all. Add to that the dunes of Ludington State Park and you have hundreds of dunes to enjoy by sled or saucer. If by the latter make sure your seat belts are fastened as that will be one fast ride down those dunes.

The one down side to all this is those menacing winds coming off of Lake Michigan as they can make a sledding day last for only about an hour. Enjoy!

Frozen Big Bass Lake


In just a few weeks this scene will revert to open water as the weather rebounds. Yet this photograph brings out the best of winter for Big Bass Lake. Soon snowmobiles will be put away for another season and ice skaters will be hanging up their skates. Ice fishermen will have to be content to use a boat and walking across the lake will cease unless you use water walkers.

Those ice cold breezes off the lake will yield to warm air penetrating through open screens. Parkas will be replaced by shorts and swimming suits and the no wake law enforced by winter freezing over will give way to high powered speed boats. And, the lake population will no doubt nearly double in size.

Yes, can spring be that far away?