The Old Farm House


There was an entry way to this house which was just as wide as the house and also in which one had to duck if they were over 5’10” yet once in the house you were right in the marvelous kitchen. I will never forget that room. As I was growing up my bed was right along one of the kitchen walls and one of the sturdiest beds that I can recall. Right outside the front window facing the barn and grainery was our well. The metallic taste of the water was diffcult to take in but the water was sure ice cold.

Two steps up from the kitchen led you into the family room and a restroom and a bedroom off that room. Upstairs had an attic and just off the living room was a screened in rather large porch that faced the smaller cottage. There was a small path then leading down to our dock at the lake.

My grandmother’s cooking would wake me up each day and the room was filled to the brim with wonderful aromas. Again that kitchen should have remained in some museum. It was quite sad to learn that it had been torn down to make way for the new cottage just to the south of this location. The old cottage was winterized whereas the new cottage was not.

Just off to the left of the old house entry way was the ice house and chicken coop. I have fond memories of my grandmother scattering corn to the baby chicks. There was a circular drive around the icehouse in order to get back to the main road, that being Bass Lake Road. That circular path led to a grassy road that went past our barn and within a hundred yards of that our back road (Noreika Drive now) that cut through our property. It turned to sand about a hundred yards out and fields and forest were on one side of the road and for a time Big Bass Lake on the other eventually turning into all forest.

Remembering North Shore Camp on Loon Lake


It seems to me that in the 1950’s and 60’s there was some sort of camp or resort on the north side of Loon Lake.  I recall hearing  a lot o activity whenever my family went to the Loon Lake Roller Rink and it was always centered on the northwest side of that lake.  There were a lot of kids there at that time.

Perhaps some of the old timers who read BBL and Beyond would know about that place.  If so, leave us a comment as to what this facility was and whether it was a camp or resort.  If a camp, who supported it and how many kids attended it? 

Big Bass Lake Ice Harvesting


I always wondered what my father took this picture for until I noticed something similar on the jam Farm Facebook page. This is called ice harvesting. I didn’t know what my dad and his neighbors were trying to do here. This just has to be ice harvesting before electricity was put in. I think at Big Bass Lake they might have done it even longer than that. Our farm had a Ice house that was in close proximity to the cottage. I wonder how long this process took. Maybe this video will help you comprehend that. Comments are always welcome. Did any of your families ice Harvest on Big Bass Lake?

Last Game at Comiskey Park


In order to continue this website into perpetuity I will be adding a few new categories including this one called the Chicago White Sox my all-time favorite team. The video for this first about the Chicago White Sox is the last game played at Old Comiskey Park and the ceremony that followed.lights out I hope you enjoy the video.

The Boy that could Fly by Aeroboy


IMG_20171004_114957 the other day I was sledding down a hill and my sled went Airborne for a moment. When what to my wondering eyes should appear was Aeroboy flying through the air with the greatest of ease. I think I like that name but please don’t let Mommy know cuz she may worry about me. Mommy won’t let me cross the street by myself but you never said anything about flying over it. Flying does kinda bother my eyes. the oncoming wind makes them water. Flying is real cool.

Aunt Barb and Uncle Willie


Aunt Barb, often called Babs by her fariends, and my Uncle Willie lived in Enterprise, Alabama. They had an adopted son, John, which everyone, including them, called Jeb. Uncle Willie spoke very fast and at times was difficult to understand being from the deep south. Aunt Barb was the industrious one as she loved to walk at a brisk pace and was always busy in the garden or cooking.

Barb, Willie, and Jeb are all gone now. In fact of my grandparents family, each of their sons and daughters died in order of their birth. My dad first, then Aunt Barb, Beth, and finally Uncle Joe. His wife Mary died in 2012. Craig and Mark their sons are still alive today.

Uncle Willie loved to play the golf courses around the greater Big Bass Lake area and he also loved to fish Big Bass Lake. They are all missed much