I know of some folks that believe that they can get from the Baldwin, Michigan, area to Lake Michigan in no time flat along the Pere Marquette River, that is, as the crow flies. But crows don’t paddle all the twists and turns of that river so to go that distance in just a few days is not a reality.  One man, in particular, only made it about half way in the time limit that he had alloted for himself, much to his displeasure.

I’ve never taken the Pere Marquette River in any sort of speed contest as that would ruin it for me.  This river was meant to be enjoyed and part of that pleasure is to camp along its banks and get in some good fishing.  If you’re in some sort of speed contest, you’ll miss all that this river offers you.  I even enjoy a brief swim in the cool waters of the Pere Marquette. 

This river was meant to be enjoyed to its fullest and each and every time that I dip my paddle in this river, I take my time to enjoy every minute.  What’s the rush?