Journey Into The Manistee National Forest


One thing that I like to do is drive around the Manistee National Forest until I find a side road and then to take that deeper into the forest.  I then like to stop the car and explore that particular area for about an hour or so.  I just never know what i might find that I didn’t know was there before.  For example, one time I find a small lake about a mile inside of where I parked my car.  There it was just sitting there in the middle of the forest and  knows ff anyone had stumbled over it before?

Other times I find an old deserted cabin and set about exploring that to see if there is anything worthwhile within it.  More times than not there is nothing to find but I enjoy searching anyway.  I usually take Darlene with me as she also enjoys exploring the forest.  But her searches lend more toward wild flowers or mushrooms.  Nevertheless she often finds just what she is looking for and rarely comes away disappointed. 

I like to take these journeys about once a month in largely the summer, fall, and spring.  I’d recommend these types of trips to anyone as you just don’t know what you might find in the Manistee National Forest.

Leave a Reply

