The Walkway Over The Hamlin Dam


GLFT_widewalk_70446_7

I’ve never liked this walkway over the Hamlin Dam, especially when the Sauble River is running high. The water beneath the walkway rushes through like a torrent and given my fear of heights, this is not my favorite place to be.

Darlene, my wife, has no trouble navigating this narrow passageway and sometimes teases me about it. Last time I went over it I kissed the ground on the other side. The only trouble is that I have to cross it again to get back to the car.

At times I feel it would be safer to just wade across the river as it narrows just before it reaches Lake Michigan. Oh, well, nobody’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

