I never enjoyed swimming in League Lake at the Union League Resident Camp in Salem, Wisconsin. Boating it I enjoyed greatly but swimming, no. However within three feet of the lake was a swimming pool which was greatly used by all. The cool clean water was in stark contrast to the algae laiden League Lake.

The pool was no more than four feet deep but available for lap swimming or games such as you see in our photograph above. The pool was used for swimming lessons as was popular among both campers and counselors alike. My kids enjoyed the pool for keep away games and just splashing one another.

Whenever I swam in League Lake I felt like I needed a shower afterwards but not so with the pool. Being a relatively small lake the algae problem has grown over the years. The only way to battle it is with chemicals. Today I would think the pool is still an asset to the camp along with the newer tennis courts.