“Your” Memories of Big Bass Lake- Part Three


My own history of Loon Lake Skating Rink was that my uncle Al Dumas had a band that played there in probably the 1930’s. My uncle Everett played the banjo. I would assume this was on weekends. My husband says it was a dance place at that time. Shar Bartlett

I worked at CMJ 1956-1961 as counselor, water ski instructor, and out of camp director. Jerry Broadway was our boss. The best boss I had my entire life. How could anyone forget the Loon Lake Roller Rink and Big Bass Lake Store? We use to take our campers to both places as activates. After hours, the camp staff not on duty use to go there for great fun and roller skating. The gals from all around including BassLakeand WolfLakeuse to show up in their short shorts. We all learned the Congo, two step, and couples skate. What fun. Bay Andreas

My husband Bruce worked with his Dad Otto and Mom Ruth at the Bass Lake Store that Otto built in the 1920’s. The couple lived in an apartment that was then part of the little store. Ottos father Robert Henry Bartlett and his wife Abbie owned a grocery store in Peacock, MI His Aunt Katie Bartlett ran a hotel and restaurant also in Peacock. Edwin one of Robert’s brothers owned a sawmill on the SableRiver, which was later sold to Zahn Tuckey’s son. Shar Bartlett

MY FATHER STARTED BRINGING OUR FAMILY TO BIG BASSLAKEINTHE FIFTIES. MY FONDEST MEMORIES ARE OF THE STORE AND ROLLER RINK. WE FIRST STARTED RENTING FROM MR CASS NEXT TO THE STORE. MY FATHER WOULD BRING AN INFLATABLE APPLE AND HANG IT FROM THE TREE TO LET FAMILY AND FRIENDS KNOW WE WERE THERE. MADE MANY FRIENDS OVER THE YEARS (MY MOTHER AND FATHER WOULD VISIT THE HARTS OFTEN, MANY TIMES IN GRAND HAVEN ON THEIR WAY TO THE COTTAGE ) I REMEMBER THE TWIN BOYS RON AND DON BROWN AND THE BALDIGAS AND JOHN HOLMES BAREFOOT SKIING IN THE EVENING WHAT A SHOW!!! THE ROLLER RINK WAS MY FAVORITE. Alan Garter

I remember Otto Bartlet. When I was just a little girl, we would go to the store quite often. My sister, Doris Ault,[called Dodo] was a friend of Dixies.We stayed summers with my grandparents John and Gertrude Matson on the lake. Dorispassed away a year ago. But before she died she told me that she had talked to Dixiea couple of years earlier. Bruce and Dixiewere a little younger than me. I remember the roller rink also. I was married in 1949; we came up to my grandma’s cottage on our honeymoon. We purchased a little Brownie camera from Otto’s store to take pictures. We paid $4.98 for the camera, which we still have. We retired on BigBassLake25 years ago and live next door to my grandma’s cottage. Of course grandma is gone now but she lived to be 105 years old. Barbara Ault Hart

I go back a very, very long way. Back to the 1950’s, (Otto – white Mustache and all). I remember Otto turning the crank on a 55 gallon barrel to deliver pre-mixed 2 cycle fuel for our 1/4 HP Evenrude outboard. (You could row faster than that thing would propel that old row boat). )

Sure wish the environmental could be solved/resolved. What a shame that that piece of history is languishing. The last time I was there back in the 1990’s the Bass Lake Store was still open.

Hello to the Fords, and to the people that still remember Burton Jones who owned the Old Homestead Resort. We stayed at Cabin #10 for about

Fifteen years or more during the 1950′ and 1960’s. We would walk down the road to “Lukes” for a Dad’s Old Fashioned Root Beer. I wanted to live there onBigBassLakefor the rest of my life.

Those were, truly the days! Fondly remembering “Chip” and the wonderful times we had.  Fred Gilbert

I just learned about this web sit and appreciate all the hard work that has gone into this site. I am the great grandson of John and Gertrude Matson of the John Matson resort, descendants of Anton Matson. My mother Barbara Hart has been doing genealogy on the Matsons and bass lake for years. I have been at the lake since 1954 and remember waking up every morning by the bugle from camp Martin Johnson. What a great place to grow up. Don Hart

This is so interesting. My grandma lives on big bass and loves genealogy. I am somehow related to the Matson’s. Oh my grandma would love to see this so much I’m going to tell her about it. Lauren

WOW its great remembering all the fun on BigBassLakemy family at a cottage on the North West sideof the lake up the hill from the Jones’s place. Unfortunately I have only been back a couple times in the last 20 years but I am going back this summer. My cousin and I would spend 2 weeks every summer with my grandparents and walk all the way from our place by Lukes to BigBassLakestore just to call home to our parents. On one of my return visits about 8 years ago I stopped by the old cottage and the new owners were there while talking to them they started asking me about hand prints in the concrete retaining wall and this block of cement that they had kept with two hand prints in it, the block had my hand print in it from when I was about 8 I am 42 know and it is in my landscape. Mike Roskamp

I too have many wonder full memories of the skating rink. Its smells (usually of the family of skunks under it, but it was all good) the music, the lights reflecting off the lake, not to mention the sounds of the bullfrogs on the walk home. And yes the fun spot, going there was a treat as well as the homemade ice cream at SaubleLakestore. Those were the days. Anne Kemp

Oh, I remember the Loon Lake Pavilion skating rink. I only went there once – couldn’t skate. But I loved listening to the music from across the lake sitting on and aunt & uncle’s deck. Long time ago. I still can’t skate. But I sure have fond memories of the area.  Cindy vanderPeyl

Leave a Reply

