The Channel From Big to Little Bass Lake- Part Two


This is a rather engaging picture of the channel opening between Big and Little Bass Lake taken from the shore of the old Camp Martin Johnson. Not many people know this but the camp had land on three lakes, those being Big and Little Bass Lake plus Bluegill Lake. This photography also allows you to observe this portion of Big Bass Lake from a western perspective.

When you take a look at the channel itself, it is kind of easy to observe that only one boat at a time could manage it as the travel lane is very narrow and full of lily pads. I wonder how far to each side is solid land? It almost gives you the impression that you are sailing through a Florida marsh.

Rounding that corner a large straight-away appears and in the distance you can barely make out the bridge over the channel just before it empties into Little Bass Lake and that is where I will pick up in Part Three. Notice how desolate this channel appears. I have made this voyage myself two times in different decades.

I’ll be back tomorrow in Part Three as the bridge over the channel will be our focus.

One thought on “The Channel From Big to Little Bass Lake- Part Two

  1. I clearly remember going from Little Bass Lake to Big Bass Lake in the late 50’s with my Mom, Marion L. Brown. Both Mom & Dad were avid fishers and it didn’t matter whether it was ice or in a boat. The channel was difficult to navigate and the mosquitoes nearly as bad as on The African Queen. I still enjoy seeing my brother, Keith in the summer but in the winter I like Tucson. The neighbors have my brother to thank for plowing the road (7225) N. Resort Dr. all winter long. I didn’t remember the bridge until I saw your picture of it. There were lots of spider webs under it back then. Thanks for the travelogue. Keith can be reached @ 231 266 2174. Michael J. Brown

Leave a Reply

