Plowing the Way

A few years ago, I was walking down our fairly long driveway to the main road in a pretty good snow. As I approached the road I noticed that my mailbox was nearly buried by snow when all of a sudden a truck that clears the road passed by and literally buried me in snow almost up to my waist.

But the dusty snow was all over me including my face and I felt like an instant snowman. The Michigan Highway Department does a wonderful job of clearing our roads however around our mailbox and driveway you’d better have your own plow or else face backbreaking work using a hand shovel.

At times I’ve felt like raising my mailbox however the postal service has frowned on that idea. You just haven’t lived until you’ve faced one of those snowplows close in and, after all, who doesn’t really want to be a snowman?