On all the trips I took to our property in Michigan with various Boys Clubs of America and YMCA’s there was only one occurrence of sickness and that came with the Marion Y. Fortunately, on that trip, we were located at a cabin on Seaman Lake during a trip in mid-Spring. The branches were still barren without leaves and there was a thin layer of ice on the lake. Daytime highs reached into the 50’s while nighttime lows were in the low 40’s to high 30’s.

Rick caught a slight cold on the second day of our trip and since we had a cabin I isolated him in one room. I had heard an old wives tale about putting Vick’s Vapo Rub on the soles of one’s feet and then covering that with white socks for the night. So Rick received a foot massage with Vicks that night and in the morning he was far better. The process was repeated the next two nights.

By the next to the last day of our trip Rick was A-okay again but he largely missed out on most of the side trips. I, or the other adult supervisor on the trip, stayed at the cabin with Rick while the other boys were occupied with the events of the day. On my days with Rick, I must confess that it was somewhat quiet and peaceful.

Rick came back on another trip to experience things he had not when he was ill. I often wonder how I would have handled sickness on a tent camping trip?