One thought on “The North Shoreline of Big Bass Lake

  1. I go back 56 years when my folks bought property and built a cottage at what was then the end of the road on the opposite side of Loon Lake. Father being a school teacher, June, July and Augusts, that was home, ALONG with the Loon Lake Roller Rink owned by Lloyd and Jean, and they had an ice cream parlor in the back. During rain storms when it was cold, the 2 wood burning “furnaces” would make the wood floor warp… we got to skate up and down AND around the cans and buckets where there were leaks in the roof. The Big Bass Lake Store was built and owned by Otto and Ruth Bartlett, and I had the pleasure of having tea with Ruth downstairs, where they lived. As you walked into the store, the checkout was on the left and if you walked a bit farther along that counter, you’d come to the stairway down to their “home”. Also I remember the candy counter which was open in the back with a curved glass cover on the front with a wood frame. Otto would walk over with me and show me what the newest candies were, and of course, he said I had to be his tester. He was not a tall man, always with suspenders and a bald spot on top… a heart of gold. I remember before they built the addition on the back where they added the freezer so they had ice cream bars. Going back to the Roller Rink, for many years, I remember getting ready to go to the rink, which was of course every kid in the area’s Friday and/or Saturday night, listening to Lawrence Welk, then Dad would put me into the boat, where he’d drop me off, make sure I got across the road OK, and then head back. I had my own skates, which the first time I brought them, Lloyd had to inspect to make sure he’d let them on his “good” floor, he could be a real curmudgeon with a temper, but Jean was a dear. Bottled pop and candy snacks were her responsibility, where Rose Spurgis-Lee, whom I considered then and now, my sister, would lean at the end of the counter and gossip. Those were the days when it wasn’t the thing to race into the corners, but we had dances at that Rink. My family exchanged Christmas cards for many years with Jean and Lloyd for many years until Jean died of cancer. Their daughter, Debbie, became a hair dresser I believe in Luther, and if I remember right, they lived in Luther. I could go on and on and on… but I can go back to the mid-50’s, and SO MANY of the names you brought into this beautiful piece of work make tears of great memories and friends that no longer are with us. We had to sell the cottage on Loon Lake, across from the rink on the hill 2 places north of the big yellow house you could see from all around Loon Lake. My family had to sell the cottage in 2005 with lots of sad tears because of my Dad’s onset of dementia and Parkinsons, and I so agree with whomever it was that said due to so many changes, nothing is the same, it is beyond hard to go back. But for those who would remember Jay Smith, me, thanks for so many wonderful memories.

Leave a Reply

