Swimming in the Waves of Lake Michigan


LAKE MICHIGAN REC CENTER

There is absolutely nothing in this world that can top swimming in the waves of Lake Michigan as I have been doing it for years. I live within 15 miles of Ludington, Michigan, and so have easy access to the lake. Yes, I am also one of those nuts that swims in the dead of winter at the local Polar Bears Club although I must confess that I don’t look as forward to that as I do my summer swims.

I especially enjoy swimming on windy days as that is when the waves are at their peak and you can even get in some body surfing. The best time for swimming in Lake Michigan, in my humble opinion,is between June 15 to Labor Day and even a little later in some years. I’ve ever surf boarded a few times in really great waves and there is nothing like that at all.

In Ludington one has the chance to select his own stretch of beach because there is nearly seven miles of it so one can almost get as private a spot as they desire. I also jet ski on occassion but usually on Round Lake which I prefer over that of Lake Michigan. The water is my hobby and I love every minute of it.

2 thoughts on “Swimming in the Waves of Lake Michigan

  1. Thank you for this blog and the beautiful photos of Lake Michigan. As a child on family vacation and later when my parents moved to the same area near Warren Dunes State Park, I loved the Lake Michigan beach and dunes. A plus for me of being that far south is that the water temp is in the 70’s during the summer season. I’m no polar bear! I moved from the Chicago area to Minneapolis in 1983. Ever since I’ve been in Great Lakes withdrawal. I get up to Lake Superior at Duluth and along the Wisconsin shore once in a while. It helps with seeing and hearing the waves, but Lake Superior is swimming for polar bears mostly. (There’s a day once in a while at the sandy beach of Bark’s Bay at Cornucopia, WI where the water gets to the low to mid 60’s.) I now get my Great Lake fixes though web cams. There’s a great one in Duluth at duluthharborcam.com. The man who runs it is also a photographer who takes wonderful Lake Superior photos. (There’s a link to his photographer web site from the Duluth cam site.)

    I’ve been looking for a long time for a good web site for Lake Michigan photos. I just discovered your blog recently and am really delighted. Thank you. Thank you from this Lake Michigan starved Minneopolitan.

Leave a Reply

