I’ve never been much good at understanding imaginary lines such as the one that exists between the Nordhouse Dunes and the Lake Michigan Recreation Area. I like to call the former the primitive section of the Recreation Area where you can’t find roads or motor cards as it’s primitive as can be. Now where have I heard that line before?

What you can find here is unspoiled nature at its finest! There are miles and miles of land to explore. I love to take my huskie dogs Frick and Frack here because they have the time of their lives. This is where the Manistee National Forest hugs the shoreline of dunes and Lake Michigan in a shared respect for one another.

Once you get here you won’t want to leave.  If you want to get in touch with your inner self this is the place to be.  I’m always armed with a compass and canteen whenever I come to this place of the imaginary line.  I like to think of this area as my own private beach similar to the one on M-116 just outside of Ludington. 

If you’re ever in the area, give Nordhouse a try even if you might have to cross some imaginary line to get there from the Recreation Area.