Just a few short miles from the Orchard Market on US 31 is the quaint town of Free Soil, Michigan. For anyone that might want to drive fast through these small towns, this railroad crossing will want to make you change your mind. It is perhaps the bumpiest railroad tracks I have ever been over! Nearly every socket in your car will take notice of this crossing. Welcome to Free Soil!

My husband, Mike, used to take me to an old drug store in this town which used to serve up the best strawberry milkshakes ever.  Using this photograph as a reference point, it would have been not that far ahead on the right side of the road.  I don’t think it’s there anymore which is a shame.  For the time that it was in business it must have been the place to go in Free Soil as there didn’t seem to be that much competition. 

A few miles east of the town was a place called Camp Sauble and for the longest time, much to my husbands amusement, I thought it to be some sort of kids summer camp.  It was years later that I discovered it to be a correctional facility in the Michigan prison system.  Ha, Ha, Michael!

This provides you with an aerial view of Free Soil. At one time it had a school there and a railroad depot.  Did any of our readers go to school in Free Soil?  I haven’t been back to Free Soil for many years now even though Mike and I travel the immediate area quite a bit.  Someday i will get back there to at least see what has taken that drug stores place.  Maybe I’ll be surprised?