I consider myself somewhat of a dock expert. Some also call them piers. I am amazed at home some very expensive homes have quite simiple piers while other more modest homes have large ones.  Some are set at various angles, such as the one you see here, and others are just straight out into the lake.  Our pier was a T-frame and at the end of the T was a bench that was used either for fishing or thinking.  Some of the best philosophes must have sat on some of those docks.

A few docks have ladders with them for swimming while others are more for tethering boats to the pier.  Our dock stayed in the water year-round which could explain why it was so warped.  Most people pull in their docks just after Labor Day or shortly thereafter. 

Since I like examining docks so much I wonder if that could get me an exemption from the medical profession?