The Drenched Lighthouse



It never ceases to amaze me as to how high the water goes upon this lighthouse off the shores of Ludington, Michigan.  I love to photograph this location whenever storms hit the area or even during times of high winds.  The sheer power of the waves impresses me more and more each time I capture their images on camera.

In winter you can often feel the stinging sand as the winds whip them around almost into a frenzy.  My husband Mike often feels that when he jogs along the shores as I capture the movement of the waves on film.  Between this location and the Sauble River outlet, I spend a great deal of time trying to capture the best shots I can get. 

I know this lighthouse gets repainted every so often and that is because of the pounding that paint gets with the never ceasing pounding of those waves upon it.  Sheer majesty!

Leave a Reply

