With water breaking against the Ludington pier like this, I sure hope there aren’t any people out there on it. Both Darlene and I have featured people straying out on the breakwater even in waves like this to their own peril.

On one photograph, a lone fisherman is out on this breakwater in similar waves.  I’m not sure why people risk their lives to do so.  I have even seen people take this risk in the winter when waves still strike this breakwater with fury.  Then the breakwater itself is frozen over so any water that is sprayed upon it would turn it into an ice rink. 

I have often said that window washers aren’t needed out at this lighthouse because nature takes care of that on a periodic basis.  Still, waves like this impress me nevertheless.  Lake Michigan has its own show nearly every storm but the best place to watch that fury is from shore.