Was Paul Bunyan Ever in Baldwin?


During my visits to my grandparents farm in the 1950’s, I seem to recall a Paul Bunyan Museum on the outskirts of Baldwin. As you all know, when one gets older, memory sometimes plays tricks on you but I can’t help but recall a large Paul Bunyan figurine before we got to Baldwin on Michigan 37. Perhaps it wasn’t a museum but something else? Anyone else recall this figure in the 1950’s?

I don’t think Babe was a part of this package as I sure can’t remember a blue bull and that is something that might be hard to forget.  By the way, this photograph is NOT the Baldwin one but a picture I found to make the point. 

I do have one thing in common with Bunyan as our shoe size is similar to that of his.  I’d sure like some confirmation as to whether or not anyone else remembers this Paul Bunyan figurine.  Let me know by way of a comment.

3 thoughts on “Was Paul Bunyan Ever in Baldwin?

  1. The Paul Bunyan Museum in Baldwin is now the Paul Bunyan Antiques Mall. This sign may be from when the place was a museum — and what you remember. This photo is from this summer:

    Like

  2. It seems like Ward’s Restaurant was right across the highway from it as i grew up there in those little cabins behind the restaurant. I remember looking at Paul Bunyon and his big blue ox every single day. It definitely was a museum and tourist store in the 1960’s. I have a lot of found memories growing up in the area. Thanks for sharing this picture. My maiden name is Galloup and my dad, Nial Galloup, built quite a few houses in the area. I remember as a child we would go to Jone’s Ice Cream Shop, and he would pick me up and take me back and set me on a stool and I’d watch him make ice cream, and if I was very still and quiet, he’d give me an ice cream cone, any flavor. He was a short, bald man, always dressed in white, and very kind and humorous. He and my dad were very good friends, as dad was pretty much friends with everyone then. I really miss those days, and they are definitely gone forever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

