Jones Home Made Ice Cream


jones

Well, Baldwin, Michigan, may no longer have a drive-in theatre but they do have Jones Home Made Ice Cream Parlor which is well worth the trip from any of Lake County, Michigan’s, many lakes. A nice feature of the parlor is a history of downtown Baldwin on its walls. As for the ice cream itself-

All homemade ice cream and yogurt. There are typically 14 flavors when you visit Jones- this includes 2 specials, a low-sugar, a yogurt and a sorbet- plus a wide variety of favorites. Also featured are homemade waffle cones and bowls with the option to have them chocolate covered- Yum! Jones Homemade Ice Cream in Baldwin opened in 1942. The current owners Kim and Terry Jamieson have been running Jones for the past 19 years.

Plan a visit when you are in the area and prepare for a tast treat unlike any other.

2 thoughts on “Jones Home Made Ice Cream

  1. I haven’t been there in many years, but I left a comment on another one of your pics about jone’s ice cream parlor. I knew him when I was a little girl. He and my dad were really good friends and he always used to take me and set me up on a stool in the back. My dad and Mr. Jone’s would talk and joke and carry on about the old days, and if I was good and quiet, Mr Jone’s would give me an ice cream cone. He was a very gentle and kind man. Always happy. I remember him being short, bald-a little hair on the sides, rosy cheeks, and always dressed in white (white shirt, white pants, and a white apron). I can’t remember if his ‘boat’ white hat was paper or cotton. It was probably cotton made. If you pic my mind long enough, I remember a few more details about Baldwin. I also remember mom and dad being partial owners of Ski’s Bar then too. It’s been a long, long time. My dad, Nial Galloup, would tell me stories about meeting the original ‘harlem globe trotters’ when they stopped at the bar for a coke, a cheeseburger, and fries. He also served a lot of other famous people such as ‘Fats Domino’, Chubby Checkers, Louis Armstrong, Count Bassie, Della Reese, etc. I don’t know if I ever met any of them or not, as I was very small then. I can remember sitting at a table during the daytime hours sipping on a grape or orang crush pop while dad tended the bar and grille and mom was the bar maid tending tables and cleaning the kitchen. I also vaguley remember there being sand or saw dust on the dance floor and I’d put some money in the juke box and do the twist or some kind of dance. If I’m not mistaken, I think Mr. Frank Yankovic was there once and played the accordion and my parents did the polka to ‘Roll out the Barrel’. My brother, Cliff Galloup, has many pictures of those days and nights at the Ski’s Bar. I’ve seen some of the pictures, but not in at least 25 or 30 years, if not more. Please feel free to contact me if you would like, I have left you my email below.

    • Many of the celebrities you mentioned were most likely visiting Idlewild Resort near Baldwin which was an African-American place of relaxation. I have two other posts about that including a link.

Leave a Reply

