My friend John has a pontoon boat on Big Bass Lake and I think I prefer this kind of boat over any other as they can chug along at a decent rate of speed at almost any time. My day trips with John were fun as there was always something to see and find new in trips around the lake. But night time was even more spectacular. On clear nights you could find almost every star in the galaxy. At times, he would cut his speed and you could then listen to the siounds of the lake.

I preferred night excursions around the lake. For one, the lake was nearly empty of boats and we could have our way nearly everywhere on the lake. A light jacket was necessary on most trips under a darkened sky and that was just fine with me. There was always a package of potato chips to munch on along with your favorite beverage.

I often wonder how trips around the lake would be just before winter set in? Perhaps an early to late October excursion about the lake or even into the first two weeks of November. Whatever the case, the lake would be fantastic to view. From the colorful leaves of Autumn to the fresh greenery of Spring, you just can’t beat Big Bass Lake for scenery!