Mike and I usually spend the 4th of July in Ludington however this year we opted for Manistee instead. I don’t like the massive crowds that Ludington gets at this time of year so Manistee it was. I must say that I was impressed with their parade as it was quite good. The Manistee Marching Band was superb and the weather was much hotter than either of us would have liked.

One of my passions are snow cones and the ones in Manistee were more than refreshing. They were filled with the colors of red, white, and blue and ever so cold. After the parade we both window shopped for about a half hour and then Mike opted for heading to the Lake Michigan Recreation Area to swim since the Manistee beach itself was quite crowded. The near 100 degree temperature had everyone heading for the beach following the parade.

Prior to our swim at the Lake Michigan Area we had a cold lunch on their picnic grounds and the shade of all those trees was excellent. Even this area was more crowded than usual for swimming but we both had a great time. I got in my sun time and Mike both jogged and swam to his hearts content. Not a bad way to spend this Fourth of July at all!