For about a year, my dad tried his hand at owning a Goodrich Tire Store in Elmhurst, Illinois. I was in the fifth grade at that time. But that basement was pure heaven to me as stacks upon stacks of tires laid before me and I was ever ready to explore them. I climbed down them and had the time of my life.

Perhaps that is why, later in life, I created a game at boys clubs called Tire Endurance where kids would have to climb in and out of five stacked tires in the quickest time possible. They needed to do that five times while being on the clock.

My dad found out that the tire business was NOT for him and after a year sold the store. He went back to his comfort zone in the printing business and his firm was just a block from Wrigley Field home of the Chicago Cubs. However, while he was a life-long Cubs fan, I rooted for the better team, the Chicago White Sox.

My dad, Adam Norris, was a genius in his printing field but tires were NOT his forte but then he had a son who loved those tires.  Oh swell, it was fun for a year!