This photograph shows my grandfather, Joseph Noreika, tending to his crops along our driveway. Now that same area has been filled with new homes and that area would be their lawns. However at the tme this picture was taken, our ever moveable garden was located here. In my memory I never remebered it there but our garden moved locations often.

At the times I remember it was once just across our driveway and then to the side of the new cottage and then in the front of the new cottage. Whatever the location, the majority of the vegetables were found at our dining table located in the old cabin. At that time our orchard was also quite close to where the new cottage was to be built.

My grandfather died when I was quite young but I remember him as kindly yet hardly speaking a word of English. He largely spoke his native Lithuanian. My grandmother learned her English largely from watching television.