One trip that one of my boys club kids took to the Haunted Island was eventful for what didn’t happen as nothing was planned by me at all. The trip was just to take in the haunted house and the area around it. But as we approached the haunted house the errie sound of a loon sent the boys to the ground in a heartbeat. I must admit that it was a very bizarre sound and occurrance. Preston and Alan were quite concerned about the unusual sound.

The loon continued his moaning cry for several more minutes. After a few minutes the kids got up and dusted themselves off and asked to return to our beach front camping area. It was the first time in all my trips to that island where the kids requested to leave without some plan of mine that might have scared them. Instead a mere loon sent them packing. You know, I felt upstaged as well.